Caption Tool Price Index

What 14 auto-caption tools cost, what each plan includes, how long your videos can be and whether the free plan adds a watermark. Every figure is from the vendor's own pricing page.

By Sebastian, founder of Capsubs · Last checked · Prices in US dollars

Key findings

  1. Of the 12 competing caption tools that list a month-to-month price, the median cheapest paid plan costs about $19 a month, and entry prices range from $7 to $29.99.
  2. Among tools that sell a set number of videos, the cheapest plan billed monthly works out to between 14¢ (captionrich Pro) and $1.90 (Zubtitle Guru) per video; Capsubs Basic is 50¢.
  3. 5 of the 7 free plans that state their watermark policy add a watermark to exports; only Capsubs and captionrich export free videos without one.
  4. Paying yearly cuts the advertised monthly price of the cheapest plan by 14% to 50% at the 8 tools that offer it.
  5. Tools billed by the minute are far cheaper per video for short clips, while tools billed by the video are simpler to budget, so per-video and per-minute rankings differ.
  6. Several cheap entry plans cap video length at 2 to 4 minutes, so a longer video can force a more expensive plan.

Disclosure: we make Capsubs, which is one of the 14 tools. It is listed with the same rules as the others.

Prices and limits, tool by tool

The cheapest paid plan for each tool, then its free offer. "Not stated" means the pricing page doesn't say. Want the cost for your own posting schedule? Try the Caption Cost Calculator.

ToolCheapest paid planBilled yearlyIncludesMax video lengthFree offerFree watermark
CapsubsWord-by-word captions$5/mo (Basic)Not listed10 videos a month6 min2 videos a month, up to 3 minNo
captionrichCaption editor$7/mo (Pro)$6/mo50 videos a month4 min3 videos a month, up to 3 minNo
ZapCapCaption templatesNot listed (Starter)$8/mo15 videos a month2 min3 videos a month, up to 1 min 30 sNot stated
SubmagicCaptions and short-form editing$19/mo (Starter)$12/mo15 videos a month2 minNo permanent free plan listed–
ZubtitleCaptions and social formats$19/mo (Guru)$15.83/mo10 videos a month20 min2 videos a month, up to 20 minYes
SubtitleGeneratorSubtitle editor$9/mo (Pro)$7.50/mo700 minutes a month30 min60 subtitle minutes a month, up to 10 min a videoYes
KapwingOnline video editor$24/mo (Pro)$16/mo1,000 minutes a month120 min10 auto-subtitle minutes, up to 4 min a videoYes
DescriptTranscript-based editor$24/mo (Hobbyist)$16/mo600 minutes a monthNot stated1 media hour a monthYes
Happy ScribeTranscription and subtitles$17/mo (Basic)$8.50/mo120 minutes a month90 min10-minute free trial–
quso.ai (formerly Vidyo.ai)AI clipping$29/mo (Lite)Not listed100 minutes a monthNot stated75 credits a month (about 75 minutes)Yes
Opus ClipAI clipping$15/mo (Starter)Not listedNot statedNot statedFree plan with watermark–
CapCutVideo editor$19.99/mo (Pro)Not listedNot statedNot statedFree editor; Pro assets add a watermark–
CaptionsMobile AI video app$24.99/mo (Max)Not listedNot statedNot statedFree version with 1 caption template–
RevTranscripts and caption files$29.99/mo (Essentials)$25.49/moNot statedNot stated45 AI minutes a month–
  • Capsubs: Monthly billing only. No translation or SRT export.
  • ZapCap: The pricing page shows yearly prices; a month-to-month price isn't listed.
  • Submagic: Priced per member. Higher plans allow longer videos.
  • Kapwing: Priced per member.
  • quso.ai (formerly Vidyo.ai): One credit is about one minute of processed video. Yearly prices were a limited-time offer when checked, so they're left out.
  • Opus Clip: Credits are minutes of source video; the Starter allowance isn't stated on the pricing page.
  • CapCut: Prices vary by region and platform.
  • Captions: Prices shown are the iOS prices.
  • Rev: Produces caption files rather than burned-in social captions.

Method

  • Tools: 14 widely used tools that add captions to short videos, from caption-only apps to full editors and clipping tools.
  • Source: each vendor's public pricing page, read on 31 October 2026. We didn't use reviews, help-center articles or sales quotes.
  • Price: the cheapest paid plan, as a monthly figure when billed monthly and when billed yearly. Taxes, regional prices and limited-time offers are left out.
  • Per-video cost: monthly price divided by the videos included, only for tools that sell a set number of videos.
  • Anything the pricing page doesn't state is marked "Not stated". We didn't estimate it.
  • Prices change often. Check the vendor's page before you buy, and tell us at capsubs.com/contact if something is out of date.

Use this data

You can quote, chart and republish these figures under CC BY 4.0. Please link to this page as the source. The full table is also available as a CSV file.

Cite as

Capsubs, "Caption Tool Price Index", checked 31 October 2026, https://capsubs.com/research/caption-tool-prices

Changelog

  • : First edition: 14 caption tools, checked on each vendor's pricing page.

Work out your own cost

Enter how many videos you post and how long they are, and see which plans fit and what each video costs.